mainlymandy

Just another WordPress.com site

The Dreaded D-word February 18, 2011

Filed under: Diet — Mandy Sue @ 8:38 am

Dieting that is. Over the years that Zach and I have been together, I have gained quite a bit of weight. Some people have called it “happy weight.” I don’t know about that, but I know it is unhealthy. I recently had a reality check and realized I need to get serious about shedding some pounds. My goal isn’t necessarily to get back to where I was in high school (120ish) but to get back to a healthy weight. I’m hoping to loose about 30 pounds. Maybe after I get there I will be motivated to continue, but right now I need to set a goal that is realistic.

Part of my problem is I’ve never really dieted before. I know it is crazy, but all through high school my metabolism was crazy fast and I could eat anything I wanted and never gain any weight. It sounds glorious but really it sucked when my metabolism started to slow down when I hit 19 or 20. Add in all the fast food & soda I was drinking to and from college classes while commuting and it’s no wonder I began to gain weight.

So two weeks ago, I started to watch my calories. Eventually I’ll add in exercise to the mix, but right now I want to focus on what I’m putting in my body. If I don’t change my habits then as soon as I loose the weight I’ll go right back to where I was. I don’t want to be a yo-yo dieter.

So far, I’ve lost 5 pounds and I can already tell my clothes are fitting a bit looser. I know that some of the foods I’m still eating aren’t necessarily the most healthy choices, but for now I’m just looking at calories. However, I’m already seeing a difference in the foods I choose simply because 1200 calories doesn’t go that far and If I am not careful I end up going to bed hungry.

I’m sure that over time I’ll tweak my diet to be more healthy, but for now I am just proud to be sticking to something.

 

Leave a Reply

