mainlymandy

Just another WordPress.com site

Budgeting January 13, 2011

Filed under: Budget — Mandy Sue @ 8:04 pm

Part of my 101 in 1001 post was to pay off one of my credit cards. Unfortunately I have a long way to go. Being unemployed and not qualifying for unemployment left me hard pressed for any other options. And it sucked. But I’m not going to dwell because Zach and I both have good, stable jobs, and finally have paychecks coming in that cover more than just the necessities. It’s SUCH a relief to actually see our savings growing.

I know that people have been talking about mint.com for what seems like ages. But I just created an account last week and I am loving it! I never thought that budgeting for a month could be easier. I’ve been trying to do it on my own for the last few months, but I know that I wasn’t doing nearly as good of a job as mint does!

Being able to keep track of how much we’ve spent on an alotted category throughout the month helps so much in knowing if we need to cut back in certain areas to stay on budget for the rest of the month.

Yes, we have a category specifically for coffee.  Someone in this household needs his Dutch Bros fix pretty regularly.  I wish I could say that we never reach the full budget….but in actuality, the $30 is lower than what has been spent in past months.  $30 is our goal so we can attribute the rest of the funds to things that we want to be saving for.  Or paying off.

 

I’m so glad for Mint.  It actually makes budgeting something fun to do, because I know I am working towards my goals, and trying to put living month-to-month in the past!

 

Leave a Reply

